June 9, 2002

  • How do I stop the neighbours children peering in our lounge room window?

    It drives me NUTS.

    They are part time children, meaning they are only a problem every 2nd weekend, but when they are here they start off coming over to get TK to play, if he doesn't go out to play they peer in the window to see what he's doing.

    I've yelled at them to go away. Nothing changed.

    I've waited for them to go away then closed the curtains, when they came back they banged on the window.

    Yesterday TK and Argyle were playing on the playstation and they stood peering in watching. You see, I'd invite them in - but they aren't allowed inside our house - their mothers rule.

    Argyle stopped playing and steered at them. They steered back. The watched the TV screen. Argyle paused the game and we all tried ignoring them. They just stood there. Finally the girl got bored and went off to play. The boy (the older of the two) stayed much longer, til his step father came outside and he quickly moved away.

    If their parents see them peering in the window or loitering on our path they yell at them. But it just doesn't seem to stop them. Their parents know they do this and that it bothers us (I've mentioned it) and the children just don't seem to care.

    I don't feel like I've got any privacy when these kids are about. I like to lounge about in my pj's Sunday morning, but when you have little faces pressed against the lounge window it really makes you feel uncomfortable.

    What can I do without causing a turf war (we share a driveway)??? The house has a year long lease so we are stuck here until at least Jan, 2003.

Comments (11)

  • get a dog

    a big dog

    with lots of teeth

    pointy teeth

    and an attitude

    who's hungry all the time

    and bitter at the world

    that hates kids

    except for tk

    name him cujo

    that should work

  • Wow! What a dilemna.  I'd probably throw a cup of water at them.  Hehehehe.  Nah.. I have no idea what I'd do if I were in that situation.  That's just nasty!  Awful kiddies.

  • LOL.. leadcrow.. that was great. LOL

    I had the same problem.. the little boys two doors down like to just turn the doorknob and look in. I had to tell them a few times "it's not nice to open people's doors, they might be sick, or undressed, or sleeping and you might scare them.. or they might think you're a bad guy trying to break in and you could get hurt." They also used to peek in the windows, and each time I saw them doing so, I'd poke my head out the door and gently say "that's not nice." Eventually they got too embarrassed to continue, now they knock - sometimes they're not there when I get to the door - but at least they knock.

  • our lease says we can't have pets.

    They have a doberman/pitbull cross puppy, they've only had it a a few weeks - they've also got 3 cats. We are all in the same set of units so I'd imagine their lease is the same as ours.

  • I'd say run around naked, but the kids would go away, and Dad would be staring in...

    Seriously, keep the drapes/blinds drawn. It'll make the house dingy for a while, but I'd imagine they'll lose interest pretty quickly.

  • Oh my! I don't know the answer. Does TK want to go outside and play with them?

  • Some times he does, and when he does he's allowed to go out.

  • That is hard.  Maybe you can have a talk with the parents and say you don't like it in a nice way.  Or have the staring kids come over for a talk in your front yard.  If you speak to them so they understand you like them but hate the staring-they will think, gosh, let's not make the nice lady mad anymore. Respect=discipline............most of the time.

  • Try lounging aroung the house naked for a while.

    Dress up in some bondage gear and do some masturbation.

    Im sure once the little darlings go home with hard to answer questions they will not be allowed near your place anymore!

    "Mummy... what was that funny lady doing with the vaccuum cleaner?"

    Ever

    Set

  • ROFLMAO!!!  I don't know which one I like better, leadcrow's idea or Set's!

    If none of those work, get a painball gun.  A big one.  With a really icky paint color.  Sniper their asses!  Literally! 

  • Wow, there is a great deal of effective material above! go 9 check. Thanks for this article, very effective information. 6 4 web. It cannot have effect in actual fact, that is what I think. 8 4 link. It won't really have effect, I think this way.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment