November 18, 2009

  • Tasmania, Day two (part two)

    November 1st, 2009.


    View Larger Map

    In the interests of time, I'm turning this into a photo blog.

    After leaving Taranna, we drove to Swansea, along the way we came across this fence covered in shoes:

    DSC00329

    DSC00330

    Then, we stopped at the 'Spikey Bridge' just outside of Swansea. 

    DSC00332

    The bridge was built in the early 1840's by convicts, but doesn't appear to go anywhere.

    There also doesn't appear to be a reason why it's spikey.

    DSC00336

    DSC00337 

    On arrving at Swansea we checked into the resort, this was our cabin:

    DSC00341

    That path at the front leads down to the beach.

    Inside:

     DSC00350

    The beach:

    DSC00348

    Looking from the beach towards the cabin:


    DSC00345

    The resort has a resturant that has won several awards, I planned for us to eat there the first night, but sadly it was booked out. The next night it was closed! I was so upset!

    Happily we were able to get a reservation at 'The Banc' which I must say was amazing.

    thebanc

    Both Ross and I really enjoyed our meals, so much so I wanted to eat there again the following night, sadly for me, it was booked out.

    (This is not a very good photo, sorry!)

    .



Comments (3)

  • I have never thought of Tasmania as a holiday destination but it looks lovely.
    We have a shoe fence down south somewhere... can't recall where exactly but I know I've seen it.

  • Tasmania is beautiful, in some ways it's more like New Zealand than other parts of Australia are. Especially temperature wise. It was 20 - 25 the entire time we were there, Melbourne was closer to 30 - 35.

  • Seen the shoe thing in some trees. Although there has never been a satisfactory explanation as to why in most cases

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment